Quest for the West Winners

Naranjas en Venta by Scott Tallman Powers

The annual Quest for the West show and sale opened recently at the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art in Indianapolis, IN. This year’s show attracted more than 400 attendees and tallied nearly $1 million in sales. Almost all of the 50 participating artists attended the opening-weekend festivities at the museum, which included seminars and demonstrations as well as the sale and awards banquet. This year’s Artist of Distinction Award, given for the best overall body of work, went to sculptor Doug Hyde, who will be featured in a retrospective at the museum during next year’s Quest for the West show. Hyde also won the Patrons’ Choice Award. The Harrison Eiteljorg Purchase Award went to another sculptor, Greg Kelsey. The Victor Higgins Award for best body of work went to Robert Peters. The Cyrus Dallin Award for best sculpture went to Scott Rogers. The Henry Farny Award for best painting (sponsored by Southwest Art Magazine) went to Scott Tallman Powers. Finally, the Artists’ Choice Award went to Josh Elliott. All of the artworks are on view at the museum through October 9.










One thought on “Quest for the West Winners

Comments are closed.